“Cleantech is not an industry for the faint of heart. It takes creativity, persistence and more than a little bit of patience. In Colorado, that patience is paying off.” – CCIA Executive Director Shelly Curtiss

On October 16, 2019, CCIA presented seven awards at the annual Cleantech Awards Celebration. We were thrilled at the opportunity to honor five organizations and two individuals for their work in supporting and advancing clean energy in the state. 

Here are the 2019 Colorado Cleantech award winners:

Emerging Cleantech Company:
Hygge Power

Hygge Power has had a big year. They signed four utility pilots and are testing their alpha MVP units with two utilities today. They are also participating in the Free Electrons accelerator and Shell/NREL’s GameChanger program. The board is set for product certification, manufacturing and products sales on the market and through utilities in 2019. Eric Lustgarten and Max Lewin accepted the award for Hygge Power.

Max Lewin and Eric Lustgarten accepting the Emerging Cleantech Company of the Year Award on behalf of Hygge Power. From left: Shelly Curtiss, CCIA; Eric Lustgarten and Max Lewin, Hygge Power; and Ed Williams, CCIA


Breakout Cleantech Company:
Keystone Tower Systems

For some years now, Keystone has been slowly and quietly working on their patented technology for creating huge-scale wind turbine towers, and they are just about to make a huge splash on the industry. After proving their technology at partial scale and designing with leading wind turbine manufacturers, Keystone is now starting construction of the first utility scale spiral tower factory capable of producing over 1GW of towers per year. Eric Smith, CEO and co-founder of Keystone Tower Systems, accepted their award.

Eric Smith, CEO of Keystone Tower Systems, accepting the Breakout Cleantech Company of the Year Award at the 2019 Colorado Cleantech Awards.


High Impact Cleantech Company:
Forge Nano

Forge Nano is not only a great place to work, but a great company with their eye on the future. They push the boundaries of atomic level surface coatings, and their patented high throughput processes are not only affordable but also scalable. This year, the Forge Nano team has made exciting breakthroughs in material sciences, especially in battery technology. With a proven ability to improve battery performance across a broad spectrum of key factors, Forge Nano has garnered attention and investments from companies like Volkswagen, LG Tech Ventures and Mitsui-Kinzoku. Forge Nano’s award was received by Arrelaine Dameron.

Forge Nano’s director of research development, Arrelaine Dameron, accepting their High Impact Cleantech Company of the Year Award.


Cleantech Innovator:
Katie Woslager, Colorado Office of Economic Development and International Trade (OEDIT)

As the Senior Manager for the Advanced Industry Program for the past 6 years, Katie has managed a $60 million portfolio of Advanced Industry companies, which includes the Energy, Natural Resources and Cleantech Sector. The program has leveraged a 6x return from the $60 million in funding through venture capital, angel investment and federal funding. Since its inception in 2013, the Advanced Industry Program has committed $21.9 million dollars to the Energy, Natural Resources and Cleantech Sector. In addition to the funding portfolio, Katie oversees the international exporting programs, including the State Trade Expansion Program and the Advanced Industry Export Program.  

Katie Woslager, the Cleantech Innovator of the Year for 2019, accepting her award. From left: Shelly Curtiss, CCIA; Katie Woslager, OEDIT; and Ed Williams, CCIA


Vision Award:
Rocky Mountain Institute

Although RMI has been around for decades, its impact and reach have grown tremendously in the last five years. RMI is focused on leading radical, large-scale change, both locally and around the world. RMI hopes to achieve transformational and market-based change at a global scale, while at the same time supporting global industries and entrepreneurs as they transition toward a new role in a low-carbon economy. Rocky Mountain Institute Managing Director Ned Harvey accepted their award.

Ned Harvey, managing director at Rocky Mountain Institute, accepting the Vision Award at the 2019 Colorado Cleantech Awards. Shelly Curtiss and Ed Williams of CCIA look on.


Cleantech Champion:

Cooley has been CCIA’s partner since Day 1. They helped stand up the organization and have provided advice and direction for the past ten years. Cooley’s commitment to cleantech is seen in their diverse clean energy client base and in their dedication to companies of all sizes, from startup and venture transactions through commercialization and exits. Cooley’s award was accepted by Jim Linfield.

Cooley’s Jim Linfield accepting the Cleantech Champion Award.


Legislator of the Year:
State Speaker of the House KC Becker

Speaker Becker was a prime sponsor in the 2019 session of a key bill establishing a law setting greenhouse gas reduction goals. The speaker was not able to accept her award in person.